As an administrative system, the state system is used in many countries. The largest example of a government system that is commonly used in developed countries is the United States of America. The word “state” is a word that is used and heard very often today. Thus, everyone is wondering what the state is. We told you what a state is, how it is managed and how many states there are in America.

You can also check out this content: “The state has found an environmentally friendly way to reintegrate the homeless.”

What is a state?

A province is a large administrative unit that has some autonomy in terms of governance and is mostly governed by governors. The word province, which is an Arabic word, comes from *iyālat إيالة “administration, administration”. The state system can often be seen in former empires and federated countries. Speaking of the old empires, the provincial system was also applied in the Ottoman Empire at one time. The province was the largest administrative unit of the Ottoman province, ruled by the Beylerbeys.

The state is the basic administrative unit practiced today in federal countries. Although the states are autonomous in their internal affairs, they are subject to the central authority. Federal states are formed by the merger of all the states. That is why the polity is called a “state within a state.”

Now that we know what state is, let’s see how it works.

How are states governed?

What is a state

In countries where the state system is implemented, each state has its own constitution. For example, in a federal state of 30 states, there are 30 state constitutions. But these constitutions depend on a single, comprehensive and common constitution of the federal state. In other words, the states create their own rules of government along with the constitutions they define. However, these rules are established by the federal constitution. If the federal constitution and the state constitution conflict with each other, the federal constitution is taken into account in accordance with the principle of supremacy, and a decision is made accordingly.

In some structures of the federal government, the states have their own self-government. These administrations may be headed by governors appointed by the central government depending on the constitutional structures of the states, or by prime ministers/governors elected by the people. For example, in the states of the United States, governors are elected by the people. In the states of Australia, governors are appointed by the central government. Prime ministers in the states of the Federal Republic of Germany are elected by the people and come to power.

The president or governor in a state administration has a different law and legislature than other states in the same country. However, these laws and laws must not conflict with the federal constitution.

How many states are in America?

What is a state

There are 50 states in the United States of America and these states form a political union with each other. Each state has administrative powers in its own geographic area and shares its sovereignty with the federal government. Because each state shares its sovereignty with the federal government, Americans are citizens of both the federal republic and the state in which they live.

States in the USA:

  • Alabama
  • Alaska
  • Arizona
  • Arkansas
  • California
  • Colorado
  • Connecticut
  • Delaware
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Hawaii
  • Idaho
  • Illinois
  • Indiana
  • Iowa
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Maine
  • Maryland
  • Massachusetts
  • Michigan
  • Minnesota
  • Mississippi
  • Missouri
  • Montana
  • Nebraska
  • Nevada
  • New Hampshire
  • New Jersey
  • New Mexico
  • NY
  • North Carolina
  • North Dakota
  • Ohio
  • Oklahoma
  • Oregon
  • Pennsylvania
  • Rhode Island
  • South Carolina
  • North Dakota
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Vermont
  • Virginia
  • Washington
  • West Virginia
  • Wisconsin
  • Wyoming

Source: 1 2

Random Post