Two earthquakes that occurred yesterday in the Pazardzhik and Elbistan districts of the city of Kahramanmarash caused one of the greatest tragedies not only in Turkey, but also in the world. Due to strong earthquakes, large fires have occurred in a vast area covering 10 different provinces, where about 13.5 million people live. In this context, President Recep Tayyip Erdogan, who said that we are facing one of the biggest disasters in Turkish history, recently stated in his speech that a “state of emergency” has been declared in 10 provinces affected by the earthquake. , valid for 3 months. Let’s look at the details together.

Two earthquakes in Kahramanmaras caused great destruction

Two strong earthquakes that occurred 9 hours apart caused the collapse of thousands of buildings in Kahramanmaras, Hatay, Gaziantep, Osmaniye, Malatya, Adiyaman, Adana, Diyarbakir, Kilis and Sanliurfa. Thousands of our people were injured, thousands of our people died. However, search and rescue operations continue. President Recep Tayyip Erdogan recently shared important information on search and rescue efforts.

According to Erdogan, the number of our citizens who died as a result of the earthquake has increased to 3549 people.

state of emergency

On the other hand, according to the latest data shared by Erdogan, the number of injured has increased to 22,168. In addition, Erdogan said that more than 8 thousand of our citizens were rescued alive from the earthquake zone.

Erdogan also shared important information about search and rescue and relief efforts in the region. He said that 53,317 search and rescue personnel are currently working in the earthquake zone. However, there was another part that attracted attention in his explanations.

Erdogan announced that a 3-month “state of emergency” has been declared in 10 provinces affected by the earthquake.

state of emergency

In the relevant part of his speechBased on the authority given to us by Article 119 of the Constitution, we have decided to declare a state of emergency. We are declaring our 10 quake-hit provinces as natural disaster areas affecting life in general. We will quickly complete the presidency and parliamentary processes regarding the decision of the state of emergency, which will cover 10 earthquake-affected provinces and last 3 months.” used phrases.

The President said that a state of emergency has been decided in 10 provinces in order to quickly continue search and rescue and subsequent work.

Source: 1

Random Post