The North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO) is an international alliance of 30 member countries from North America and Europe. It was created with the signing of the North Atlantic Treaty on April 4, 1949. Two of the 30 participating countries are located in North America (USA and Canada), while twenty-eight are in Europe. Every country has an army except Iceland. Three NATO member states (USA, UK and France) have nuclear weapons. We have told you what NATO’s mission is and what NATO countries are. Here are the NATO countries.

You can also check out this content: “9 Facts You Should Know About NATO, the World’s Most Powerful Military Alliance”.

What is the mission of NATO?

Founded with the signing of the North Atlantic Treaty on April 4, 1949, NATO’s mission is to ensure the freedom and security of member states through political and military means. In any attack against a NATO member by a non-NATO member, the other NATO members jointly defend the member on their side.

What country was NATO created against?

NATO countries

The Treaty of Brussels, which is a treaty for joint defense against the Soviet threat at the start of the Cold War, signed by Belgium, Britain, France, the Netherlands and Luxembourg on March 17, 1948, is considered a precursor to the creation of NATO.

Founding NATO countries and other NATO countries


NATO is made up of 30 member countries located in North America and Europe. The first 12 countries on the list are founding countries.

  1. USA (1949)
  2. Belgium (1949)
  3. United Kingdom (1949)
  4. Denmark (1949)
  5. France (1949)
  6. Netherlands (1949)
  7. Italy (1949)
  8. Iceland (1949)
  9. Canada (1949)
  10. Luxembourg (1949)
  11. Norway (1949)
  12. Portugal (1949)
  13. Turkey (1952)
  14. Greece (1952)
  15. Germany (1955)
  16. Spain (1982)
  17. Czech Republic (1999)
  18. Hungary (1999)
  19. Poland (1999)
  20. Bulgaria (2004)
  21. Estonia (2004)
  22. Latvia (2004)
  23. Lithuania (2004)
  24. Romania (2004)
  25. Slovakia (2004)
  26. Slovenia (2004)
  27. Albania (2009)
  28. Croatia (2009)
  29. Montenegro (2017)
  30. North Macedonia (2020)

What is Turkey’s role in NATO?


Turkey joined NATO on February 18, 1952. The then President Celal Bayar signed documents on joining NATO in Ankara. Turkey thus became a member of NATO in its third year of union with Greece after the 12 founding members of the US, England, Belgium, Canada, Denmark, France, Iceland, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Norway and Portugal.

Turkey’s membership in NATO has become an important event not only politically but also militarily. For NATO, Turkey’s membership meant gaining a reliable and unique ally on the southern flank with air, land and sea capabilities and strong military forces.

Over the past 70 years, Turkey has made and continues to make a valuable contribution to NATO as the first ally that directly confronts the threats and risks in the region due to its strategic position in the critical geography in which it is located. At the same time, NATO is also important as one of the fundamental elements of Turkey’s security and defense.

Turkey is among the five allied countries that contribute the most to NATO operations. Among these contributions, activities in recent years have come to the fore across a wide geography from the Balkans to Afghanistan, from the Black Sea to the Mediterranean. In addition, the fact that Turkey is the second largest military power in NATO makes it an indispensable ally.

Source: 1

Random Post